Juergen Czarske of TU Dresden received 2019 OSA Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M Burley Prize for Optical Engineering in Washington D.C.

On 16 September 2019 The Optical Society, www.osa.org, has honored Prof Juergen Czarske of TU Dresden in Germany with the Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M Burley Prize. The award ceremony was accomplished during the OSA Conference “Frontiers in Optics and Laser Science (FiO+LS)” in Marriott Wardman Park and Carnegie Institution of Science, Washington D.C., USA. Renowned scientists have participated in the conference, including two Nobel Prize winners, Prof Donna Strickland (Nobel prize in Physics 2018) from the University of Waterloo, Canada and Prof William D Phillips (Nobel prize in Physics 1997) from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA.

In the laudation the innovations of Prof Czarske were highlighted in computational optical metrology for a wide range of applications, from environmental protection, energy saving, lightweight engineering, secure communication, to biomedicine by Prof Yoshio Hayasaki, Utsunomiya University, Japan, chair of the selection committee. He presented the certificate and Fraunhofer medal to Prof Czarske, who accepted on behalf of the entire team. “Czarske’s achievements in optical engineering have led to significant innovation across several fields, including important biomedical applications,” said 2019 OSA President Ursula Gibson. “The Fraunhofer Award/Burley Prize is appropriate recognition for his path-breaking scientific contributions.” Prof. Czarske is extremely pleased about the recognition of his scientific work: "It is a great honor and a confirmation of the path we have taken for the entire team. Given the previous winners, it is also an obligation for future research.” For 30+ years, Prof Czarske has made pioneering innovations in metrology. These include paradigm shifts in laser-based metrology, which is particularly important for technical processes and biomedicine. His findings allow him to investigate neurodegenerative diseases and to better understand how the brain works based on optogenetics with human-induced pluripotent stem cell-derived neural networks. Contactless feeling with light towards cancer diagnosis with mechanical biomarkers, digital real-time holography in 4D imaging, needle-size lensless fiber endoscopy for keyhole access in neurology, and aberration-corrected adaptive lens-based smart microscopy for thyroid studies in zebrafish are other important topics of his research. Czarske's scientific contributions find applications in physical layer security of internet, production metrology for metal working lathes (industry 4.0), sound reduction of aircrafts, low-emission combustion and lightweight materials for aerospace. Paradigm shifts were shown for digital interferometry better than the diffraction limit using in process technology, where now energy savings potentials can be better understood in flow processes, for example in fuel cells.

Czarske studied physics and electrical engineering at the Leibniz University of Hannover. He was supported with a scholarship from Siemens AG, Munich. After receiving Ph.D. degree in engineering and applied physics he was based at Laser Center Hannover (LZH) for 9 years. He also has conducted short-term scientific missions at PTB Braunschweig, in Japan and in USA. Since 2004 he is full professor at the TU Dresden, heads the Department of Measurement and Sensor System Technology at the Faculty of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He is Fellow of OSA, EOS, SPIE and IEEE senior member. Prof Czarske is an elected member of Saxon Academy of Sciences, Scientific Society for Laser Technology, board of German Society of Applied Optics (DGaO) and board of German Association for Laser Anemometry (Gala), Czarske has received the international Berthold Leibinger Innovation Prize, the Reinhart Koselleck Project of German Research Foundation, the Measurement Technique Award of AHMT, and many other honors. He has published about 200 journal articles, has over 20 patents and has delivered over 100 invited lectures. First presented in 1982, the Joseph Fraunhofer Award recognizes significant research accomplishments in the field of optical engineering. The prize was added in 1992 in memory of Robert M. Burley, who exemplified many of the highest attributes of the optical engineer and was the first recipient of the award. The award and prize are endowed by the Baird Corporation, the Burley Family and Prof. Shin-Tson Wu. The Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M Burley Prize is generally considered as one of the most important honors in optical engineering. About The Optical Society: Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit osa.org.

Person in charge:
Jürgen Czarske


Michel Billeb